The Match Lab

The Love Language of an Aquarius

The Aquarius love language is acts of service.

That means an Aquarius feels most loved when you do something thoughtful that helps them out, like taking care of a task, chore, or errand for them.


Why an Aquarius’ Love Language is Acts of Service

Having acts of service as their love language, Aquarians thrive when they feel that their significant other has taken time to support them in practical ways.

As an air sign, Aquarians are progressive, intellectual, and uniquely themselves.

Aquarians have an eccentric and independent personality type, needing plenty of space and time to think deeply and sink into their free-spirited nature.

Their desire for social, intellectual, and artistic progress make it natural that Aquarians’ love language is acts of service, as that’s what gives them more time and focus to devote into deeper thought, progress, and self-actualization.

Read: 15 Examples of Acts of Service Love Language

Showing an Aquarius Love Through Acts of Service

Acts of service are a perfect love language for an Aquarius because they make an Aquarius feel cared for while also respecting their strong sense of independence.

Aquarians are self-reliant and prefer to take charge of their own life, and they key to showing genuine care for an Aquarius partner is to respect their autonomy in any act of service you do.

Because Aquarians are known for their keen intellect and social awareness, acts of service that promote a greater good or shared values can be particularly fulfilling for them. For instance, small acts of service like participating in a community cleanup with them may make a lasting impression by showing a shared commitment to humanitarian causes.

Also, as a naturally intelligent and curious sign, Aquarians are drawn to intellectual stimulation. One act of service that’s great for an Aquarius partner is to engage them in conversations that provoke thought and challenge them mentally; for Aquarians, initiating these conversations are expressions of love and admiration, showing that you value their mind and beliefs.

Read: This is Your Love Language, According to Your Zodiac Sign

Aquarians Also Enjoy Quality Time (as a Secondary Love Language)


While an Aquarius’ primary love language is acts of service, a secondary love language of theirs is quality time.

Just as Aquarians enjoy a partner showing them practical support, they also desire to feel affection and closeness through spending quality time together.

Quality time can provide intellectual stimulation

Aquarians seek a deep, intellectual connection with their partners, and quality time allows them to have the meaningful conversations that foster this connection.

Spending quality time together in ways that are intellectually stimulating, like discussing interesting topics, exploring new ideas, or engaging in creative pursuits, is highly appealing to Aquarius.

Quality time can support humanitarian pursuits

When it comes to their humanitarian and philanthropic values, Aquarians find quality time as a perfect way to make the world a better place alongside a significant other.

They appreciate partners who share their humanitarian values. Quality time spent volunteering or engaging in activities that align with these values can be particularly fulfilling for them.

Quality time can enable Aquarians to open up emotionally

Because Aquarians can sometimes be guarded with their emotions and seem aloof, spending quality time with a partner helps build trust and understanding, allowing them to open up emotionally at their own pace.

Read: 14 Examples of Quality Time as a Love Language

Dating an Aquarius

If you’re dating an Aquarius, you’ll need to know that Aquarians don’t always show their feelings in clear ways.

As an Aquarius falls in love, their emotional connection with their partner tends to be a slow burn. It’s possible that you might not even realize that an Aquarius has feelings for you until quite a while into dating.

As a relationship partner, Aquarius is known for their loyalty and dedication. They’re likely to be supportive and encouraging, performing creative gestures that show appreciation and love.

Your love language when dating an Aquarius must include giving them plenty of freedom and space. Aquarians need a partner who respects and understands their desire for independence. It’s a must in cultivating a healthy relationship with them.

Read: 7 Signs They’re ‘The One’

Aquarius Compatibility with Other Zodiac Signs

When it comes to love compatibility, Aquarius is most compatible with Aries, Leo, Libra, Sagittarius, and Gemini.

Aquarius and Aries Compatibility

Aries complements an Aquarius’ free-spirited nature. Both signs share a passion for adventure and lively debates, making their bond strong and exciting.

However, a pairing of these two signs should be mindful that Aries’ strong-willed temperament may occasionally clash with Aquarius’ cool, rational demeanor.

Aquarius and Leo Compatibility

Aquarius’ compatibility with Leo is quite high, as Aquarius’ intellectual and social nature complements Leo’s charisma and energy. The excitement between these two signs adds passion and drama to the relationship, keeping things engaging.

An Aquarius-Leo pairing is a great case of opposites attract.

Aquarius and Libra Compatibility

A relationship between Aquarius and Libra can be harmonious, given the traits these two signs share in belonging to the air element. Aquarius’ love for independence and Libra’s love for balance helps them form a supportive and lasting bond with each other.

Aquarius and Sagittarius Compatibility

Sagittarius truly gets Aquarius, as they share Aquarius’ affinity for freedom and adventure. The connection between these two signs is strengthened by a sense of independence and exploration, making this pairing enjoyable and fulfilling.

Aquarius and Gemini Compatibility

A relationship between Gemini and Aquarius will be one marked by a highly intellectual connection. These two signs both appreciate stimulating conversations as well as social activities, which can give a lot of fuel into sparking a lively relationship.

Frequently Asked Questions

What’s my love language?

Want to take a quiz to figure out your love language?

You can find out your love language by taking this love language test.

What’s my sign?

Wondering what your zodiac sign is?

You can find out your sign based on your birthday using this article.

How do Aquarius express their love?

Aquarius often express their love through intellectual stimulation and engaging conversations. They value friendship and emotional connection, making them likely to foster a strong bond with their partners. While they might not be very physically expressive, they will show their admiration verbally.

How do Aquarius like to be loved?

Aquarius appreciate their independence and individuality, so they like to be loved in a way that respects their freedom and gives them space for their interests and pursuits. They also enjoy deep conversations and intellectual stimulation.

More Articles on Love Languages:

What Are the 5 Love Languages & What Do They Mean?

The Acts of Service Love Language Explained

The Words of Affirmation Love Language Explained

The Physical Touch Love Language Explained

The Quality Time Love Language Explained

The Gift Giving Love Language Explained

Recent Posts